top of page

Redhead Jinxed Summer

I admit the crazy spring taught me many things about life - again I have to say this. Things like

"you should be just the one and only amazing person you are" and "you shouldn't try to sacrifice yourself for someone else after you have done everything you can to help" (no matter how lovely person it might be). Over all it has been wonderfully amazing journey in so many ways that I'll probably forget half of them because of the emotional overflow the first half gives. The best way to describe this is to say that it has been the kind of summer you can read from shassy teen books filled with glitter and the next level pixie dust that doesn't make you fly anymore because you've grown too old for Neverland, but the kind of pixie dust that makes you realize something about yourself and makes you think that you'll pop your pink bubble gums with this person for ever and simple things in short moments make you smile like you could fly. The kind of summer filled with crazy funny ideas, amazing break throughs which define totally new limits for the things you can do and heart touching moments where you can name the songs that would play in the background if life was a tv show. For once I don't feel bad that I haven't been writing in almost three months - I've been too busy being happy.

Wait.... What? Can a Finnish person say that? You mean nothing is negative!?

Really. I've been busy being happy.

A moment there I was 100% positive that I have to go to Disneyland or Harry Potter World to find the magical feeling back to my life I used to have when I was a kid. I love that feeling when you never know what is about to happen, you can just let go and feel free. I used to think that there’s no one who could actually keep up with me and my ideas, or that the kind of person would be hard to find... but as I got Disneyed and jinxed by the chipper redhead spell this summer, I noticed that the magic has been there all along and I was just going around it. We both were. Criss crossing the campus for the five years and almost meeting in many places but never stopping long enough to notice what actually was there in front of our eyes. Then, all it needed was a one glance, few words and a reason to be thankful (and an ability to express it). At that moment the Disneyworld got combined with Hogwarts and came right to us.

I never thought this day would come when I say that something is more important than my morning coffee. But I guess I finally have to admit it, there's the Redhead who told me once to slow down and for some reason I believed it. I'm happy I did because since then, my time has been flying and suddenly I've been burried in the pixie dust that make everything a just a little better. It's like you have just a regular ice cream. Just as normal as it can be and the flavor is the one you usually take, nothing special in itself like that. But then you touch the pixie dust and you suddenly laugh and create Mickey Mouse ears, laugh more and next day you smile when you walk by the spot you were eating Micke Mouse ice cream. Then you walk by the spot where you were doing summersaults downhill and you can't help smiling even more - and all the people look at you like you're crazy or they want to know your secret.

If I had to make a formula about a great summer based on this one, I would write it down like this:

1# Eat a donut on the beach at midnight (= do something that violates your norms)

2# Eat the dessert before the meal and buy three balls of ice cream in three cups for two (= do what you always wanted to do when you were a kid but your mom wouldn’t let you)

3# Take someone with you and decide that this is the day when you’re going to beat up a fear you have and makes you believe you can’t do something (= surprise yourself and challenge yourself, discover what you really can do)

4# Dress up wearing different pairs of socks and the comfy clothes you normally wouldn’t step out side of the door. For once focus on the company you have and forget what others might think of you (= be present in the moment)

5# Smile so widely that people will think you’re a looney and realize how sorry you feel for them. (= let your feelings come out)

6# Miss someone when they’re not there…

7# ...and sent a message with dozen hearts telling how much you love that person and what makes you thankful for having that person in your life. (= show your feelings to the people who deserve them)

8# Tell someone how they made your life better (= make someone feel they’re important)

9# Share the ice cream and fight over the last bits of cookie dough in it (= discover that giving up on something can actually be worth it)

10# Go to the highest place you can find and close your eyes letting the wind to mess with your hair (= let your mind wander and see where it goes and what it tells about the place your heart lies)

11# Take the busiest toilet you can find and try to get a mirror-selfie with your friend where you both have a leg up and no one else in the picture (= do something stupid in a place where no one will know you)

12# Sleepover, be late somewhere and forget the time table you made last night because you have someone there who’s more important than the thing you were supposed to be doing (= be present vol. 2, stop managing and meditate)

13# Wake up at 4 am so that you can drink morning coffee together before the other one goes to work (= do something torturing and transform it into something that makes you smile afterwards)

14# Sleep a bottle post inside your pillow (just because you didn’t notice it was there) (= leave notes to surprising places and in unexpected forms and foreign languages)

15# Watch your favorite childhood films over again (= remember where you’ve come from)

16# Run around a paper box on your head / make sure there's holes so that it looks like the box is smiling (=do something to cheer up people that happen to see you)

17# Do summersaults downhill as many as you can (=make you head spinn so hard that you can't stand up straight)

Always play with your food and add peanut butter!!! ... And remember to tell the person her banana pancake is smiling because it's happy to get eaten by a such a special person ;)

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • YouTube Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page